Writing Clean

Writing without caffeine

Paul Davidson
2 min readApr 10, 2024
Photo by Monika Grabkowska on Unsplash

What do you drink or eat to perk yourself up to write? Each morning, I make a pot of strong Japanese green tea before I even think about writing. Today, however, I’m writing clean. I woke up at 5 am and did not want to risk waking my family just to boil water and steep tea. I don’t often write uncaffeinated, so the difference is noticeable.

I don’t know how other writer’s get inspired, but green tea and Max Richter’s album “Songs from Before” are the perfect combination to supercharge my creativity. When I cannot caffeinate, my mind strays from one topic to the next, I cannot define my emotions and, worst of all, key words and appropriate phrases are illusive.

Writing clean is not all bad. On the bright side, I feel stable because I’m neither bored nor interested, neither emotional nor peaceful, and neither indifferent nor passionate. I just feel deeply satisfied with my life and my place in it. I’m so happy that my genuine self does not only appear when caffeine is in my bloodstream. Wouldn’t it be sad if all my ambition to write was based merely on the contents of my tea cup?

That said, I prefer to write while drinking green tea and admire those who can write clean every day. So, please don’t take my tea away.

What do you drink or eat to inspire you when you write?

--

--

Paul Davidson

A husband, father, and teacher who is passionate about writing, psychology, social justice, the environment, and healthy living.